Nominations announced for the Arqiva backed Audio Production Awards 2017

The nominations have just been announced for the 2017 Audio Production Awards (APAs), which is being supported by Arqiva.

The Audio Production Awards, organised by the Radio Independents Group, celebrates and recognises producers across the industry for the content they create for radio, podcasts and more.

With a wide range of categories and new categories added for this year, even more producers will be honoured for the key role they play in the industry and bringing audio content to life.

Arqiva are sponsoring three of the Award categories including Best Presenter - Speech, Best Presenter - Music and Best Station Sound Producer.

"We're delighted to be supporting the APAs. There are so many talented producers across the industry and it is important to celebrate the key role they play in making radio the vibrant platform it is today."

The Awards ceremony will be taking place in London on 23 November at the BFI Southbank in London. For more information about the awards visit:

Please find the full list of the nominees below:

Best Arts/Music Documentary/Feature Maker

Cathy Fitzgerald (White Stiletto Productions)
Mark Sharman (TBI Media)
Natalie Steed (Freelance)
Peter Curran (The Foghorn Company)
Ruth Evans (Ruth Evans Productions Ltd)
Victoria Ferran (Just Radio Ltd)

Best Current Affairs Documentary/Feature Maker

Anishka Sharma (Whistledown Productions)
Deborah Dudgeon (Whistledown Productions)
Kati Whitaker (Kati Whitaker Productions)
Mark Carter (BBC Sussex)
Peggy Sutton (Somethin’ Else)
Tim Johns (BBC Radio 2)

Best Creative Documentary/Feature Maker

Adam Fowler (Overtone Productions Ltd)
Cathy Fitzgerald (White Stiletto Productions)
Claire Crofton (Freelance)
Hana Walker-Brown (Freelance)
Luke Doran (BBC Radio 4 / 4 Extra)
Peter Sale (Freelance)

Best Comedy Producer

Alexandra Smith (BBC Studios Comedy)
Benjamin Partridge (Freelance)
David Tyler (Pozzitive Television)
Joseph Nunnery (BBC Studios Comedy)
Matt Stronge (BBC Studios Comedy)
Richard Morris (BBC Studios Comedy)

Best Entertainment Producer

Adem Waterman (Absolute Radio)
Ben Walker (Ora et Labora)
Darby Dorras (Somethin’ Else)
Ed Morrish (Freelance)
Jacqueline Malcolm (Spreeboy Publishing – Jabber Talk)
Tony McShane (Metro Radio/TFM)

Best Music Producer

Ben Walker (Ora et Labora)
Dan Moss (Somethin’ Else)
David Akosim (Somethin’ Else)
Guy Bellamy (Meridian FM)
Helen Weatherhead (Wisebuddah)
Jack Howson (Reduced Listening)

Best Sound Design/Engineer

Alistair Lock (B7 Productions Limited)
Wilfredo Acosta (Freelance)
Matt Thompson (Wireless Theatre Company)
Marley Cole (Resonance)
Steve Bond (Freelance)
Joe Richardson (Wireless Theatre Company)

Best Podcast Producer

Eva Krysiak (Everyone Else)
Jonny Haw (Joe Shmo Productions)
Kate Taylor (Whistledown)
Mark Sandell (Wisebuddah)
Max Sanderson (The Guardian & Radio Wolfgang)

Best Digital Producer

Carl Frazer-Lunn (Absolute Radio)
Dan Fox (B7 Productions Ltd)
Patrick Vickers (Whistledown and UCL)
Peter Curran (The Foghorn Company)
Simon Poole (Somethin’ Else)
Thom Hoffman (Freelance)

Best Drama Producer

Andrew Mark Sewell (B7 Productions Limited)
David Beck (Wireless Theatre Company)
Judith Kampfner (Corporation for Independent Media)
Lance Dann (Resonance)
Polly Thomas (Naked Productions)
Roger James Elsgood (Art and Adventure Ltd)

Best Audiobook/Readings Producer

Chris Thompson (Heavy Entertainment)
Clive Brill (Brill Productions Ltd)
Joanna Green (Greenlit Productions Ltd)
Samuel Gunn (Heavy Entertainment)

Best New Producer

Adem Waterman (Absolute Radio)
Annabelle Buckland (JACK fm)
Kate Holland (Whistledown)
Gabriela Jones (Freelance/The Guardian)
Tom Riste-Smith (We Are Grape)
Victoria Ferran (Just Radio Ltd)

Best Station Sound Producer - sponsored by Arqiva

Adam Burgess, Tom Cross, Paul Rushforth, Grant Brodie, Vishwanath Balakrishnan, Mate Stojic, Paul Werner (Contraband Media)
Ben Stones (BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound)
James Stodd (Celador Radio)
Liam Hadley (BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound)
Rob Green (Audio Always)
Tom Cross, Adam Burgess & Paul Rushford (Contraband Media)

Grassroots Production Award

Community Radio Network
Guy Bellamy
National Prison Radio
Podium.Me Production Team
Reform Radio

Best New Voice

Andrew Loog Oldham
Brittany Taylor
Ed Miliband
Ellie Cawthorne
Harrison Stock
Soweto Kinch

Best Presenter Speech - sponsored by Arqiva

Alan Robson
Dotun Adebayo
Gemma Cairney
Jane Garvey
Ian McMillan

Best Presenter Music - sponsored by Arqiva

Clara Amfo
Goldierocks/Sam Hall
Lauren Laverne
Steve Lamacq
Tom Service

Indie of the Year

PRA Productions
Reduced Listening Company
TBI Media