Audio & Radio Industry Awards Winners Announced

The winners of the Audio & Radio Industry Awards (ARIAS) were announced this evening (October 19) at a star-studded ceremony at the first direct Arena in Leeds.

Andrew Flintoff picked up the Award for Best New Presenter - sponsored by Arqiva

Andrew Flintoff picked up the Award for Best New Presenter - sponsored by Arqiva

Top artists, Busted, The Fratellis, The Big Moon and Sigrid performed live at the ceremony, hosted by BBC Radio’s Scott Mills. The awards, organised by the Radio Academy and supported by LeedsBID (Business Improvement District), are the audio and radio industry’s prestigious flagship awards.

A total of 23 awards recognise innovation and excellence across all audio mediums, celebrating the very best of the industry. New categories for this year included, ‘Best New Presenter’; ‘Best New Show’, both sponsored by Arqiva and ‘Best On Air Promotion’ sponsored by Sky.

“We are delighted to be back in Leeds for the second year running with our partners, LeedsBID for an even bigger, better ARIAS. We’ve added more categories, with more shortlisted for each award, ensuring the depth and breadth of our industry is celebrated. With an entry bag which more than doubled this year, competition was very stiff, so big congratulations must go to all our Gold, Silver and Bronze winners as well as all those nominated.”

“The ARIAS was a tremendous evening, celebrating the best of the radio and audio industry – and many congratulations to all this year’s winners.

“LeedsBID is delighted to be instrumental in bringing the ARIAS to Leeds, showcasing the city as a host of major national events, and we hope to continue this collaboration with the Radio Academy in future years.”

“We’re delighted to have supported the ARIAS again this year and I’d like to pass on a huge congratulations to all of the winners.

“It was a fantastic celebration of the audio and radio industry with some great performances on the night too. Radio is a dynamic medium and industry and these awards highlight some of the talented individuals and teams working today. All of the nominations and winners fully deserve the recognition they received.”

The full list of winners can be found below:

Best New Presenter
GOLD: Andrew Flintoff (BBC Radio 5 live)
SLIVER: Andrew Scott, U2@40 Documentary (TBI Media/Absolute Radio)
BRONZE: Gemma Atkinson (Key 103)

Best New Show
GOLD: Flintoff, Savage & the Ping Pong Guy (BBC Radio 5 live)
SILVER: Quake (BBC Radio 4/Radio Production North)
BRONZE: Soundtracking with Edith Bowman (Ora et Labora/Edith Bowman)

Best News Coverage
GOLD: London Bridge Attacks – (Stephen Nolan for BBC Radio 5 live)
SILVER: The High Street Abduction – (Andrew Bomford for PM (BBC Radio 4)
BRONZE: BBC Radio Leeds

Best Speech Presenter Breakfast
GOLD: Nicky Campbell and Rachel Burden (BBC Radio 5 live)
SILVER: Vanessa Feltz (BBC Radio London)
BRONZE: Liz Green (BBC Radio Leeds)

Best Speech Presenter - non Breakfast
GOLD: Iain Lee (talkRADIO)
SILVER: Jeremy Vine (BBC Radio 2)
BRONZE: Mike Sweeney (BBC Radio Manchester)

Sports Show of the Year
GOLD: 5 Live Sport (BBC Radio 5 Live)
SILVER: Our summer: The Story of Wales at Euro 2016 (BBC Radio Wales)
BRONZE: On The Sporting Couch (talkSPORT)

Best Music Presenter – Breakfast
GOLD: The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show (Absolute Radio)
SILVER: JACK’S Morning Glory (JACKfm Oxfordshire)
BRONZE: The Chris Evans Breakfast Show (BBC Radio 2)

Best Music Presenter – non breakfast
GOLD: Annie Mac (BBC Radio 1)
SILVER: Richard Allinson (Magic Radio)
BRONZE: Stephen McCauley (BBC Radio Foyle & BBC Radio Ulster)

Best Specialist Music Show
GOLD: Benji B (TBI Media/BBC Radio 1 & 1Xtra)
SILVER: The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe (7digital/BBC Radio 2)
BRONZE: Soundtracking with Edith Bowman (Ora et Labora/Edith Bowman)

Best Entertainment/Comedy Production
GOLD: The Frank Skinner Show (Avalon TV/Absolute Radio)
SILVER: Henry Normal – A Normal Life (BBC Studios Comedy)
BRONZE: BBC Radio 1 24 Hour “LOLathon” for Red Nose Day, Scott Mills & Chris Stark

Best Factual Storytelling
GOLD: The Enemy Within (Falling Tree Productions/BBC Radio 3)
SILVER: Hillsborough: Trevor and Jenni's Journey (BBC Radio Merseyside for BBC Radio 5 live)
BRONZE: The Tale of June and Gretel (BBC Radio Berkshire)

Best Fictional Storytelling
GOLD: Life Lines (BBC Radio Drama London)
SILVER: Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy (BBC Studios Comedy)
BRONZE: Comment Is Free (BBC Radio 4 Bristol)

Best Community Programme
GOLD: The Manchester Bombing (Key 103)
SILVER: Dig Deep (JACKfm Oxfordshire)
BRONZE: National Prison Radio (Prison Radio Association)
BRONZE: Talking Heads (BBC Radio Berkshire)

Best Online Radio Station
GOLD: Worldwide FM
SILVER: Live @Wimbledon Radio (IMG Media)
BRONZE: Reform

Best Podcast
GOLD: Flintoff, Savage and the Ping Pong Guy (BBC Radio 5 live)
SILVER: Close Encounters (Rethink Audio/the Guardian)
BRONZE: The Untold: Missing (BBC Radio Documentaries)

Best On-Air Promotion
GOLD: The 6Music Festival in Glasgow (BBC Radio 6Music)
SILVER: UEFA Euro 2016 France on talkSPORT (talkSPORT Creative)
BRONZE: The Archers (BBC Radio 4 Presentation)

Best Branded Content or Partnership
GOLD: The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes (Absolute Radio)
SILVER: BBC Local Radio and National Poetry Day (BBC English Regions)
BRONZE: “Mardi Gras 2017” with British Airways (Jazz FM)
BRONZE: School of Rock (Magic Radio)

Best Marketing Campaign
GOLD: BBC Radio 1Xtra Street Studio (BBC Radio 1Xtra)
SILVER: See Radio Differently Campaign (Radiocentre)
BRONZE: Superhero Day (Bauer Media)

Best Coverage of an Event
GOLD: Manchester’s Response to the Arena Attack (Key 103)
SILVER: Running the Brighton Marathon (BBC Sussex)
BRONZE: BBC Radio 1’s Big Weekend (BBC Radio 1)
H.C: World Cup ‘66 Live (TBI Media/BBC Radio 2)

Local Station of the Year
GOLD: BBC Radio London
SILVER: BBC Radio Merseyside
BRONZE: Metro Radio

National Radio Station of the Year
SILVER: Planet Rock

Team of the Year (voted for by Radio Academy members)
Local Radio Day – UKRD Group

Individual of the Year (voted for by Radio Academy members)
Tony Moorey, Group Content Director, Magic and Absolute Radio