Audio Production Awards 2017 Winners

Tony Blackburn gets Gold Award, Lauren Laverne wins Best Music Presenter, sponsored by Arqiva and Adam Sims scoops Audiobook Narrator of the Year at Gala Ceremony

Lauren Laverne picked up the Award for Best Music Presenter - sponsored by Arqiva

Lauren Laverne picked up the Award for Best Music Presenter - sponsored by Arqiva

Actor Adam Sims has won Audiobook Narrator of the Year at the Audio Production Awards 2017 with a judges’ citation for his “thoughtful approach to the emotive story of Flowers for Algernon.”

The winners were announced at a Gala Ceremony at London’s BFI Southbank, on Thursday 23rd November, hosted by BBC Radio 1Xtra presenter Trevor Nelson MBE and Lead Sponsored by Audible. The show opened with a set by stand-up comedian, Mark Watson.

Other notable awards included TBI’s Phil Critchlow who received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to radio over many years. BBC Radio 6Music’s Lauren Laverne scooped Best Music Presenter, whilst BBC Radio 5 live’s Dotun Adebayo took the Best Speech Presenter title. Both presenter awards (and Best Station Sound Producer) were sponsored by Arqiva.  

Indie of the Year was won by PRA Productions of whom the judges said: “In a strong field this flourishing Indie was a clear winner. The judges were in awe of the sheer range, imagination and ambition of the output, bringing remarkable, challenging stories to air through drama, live events, music shows, factual entertainment, documentary and debate.”

The Prison Radio Association was a double winner on the night, collecting trophies for Indie of the Year (as PRA Productions) and the Grassroots Production Award as National Prison Radio.

Former Labour Leader, Ed Miliband was also honoured, winning Silver in the Best New Voice category. The judges called him, “A wonderful revelation on Radio 2, where his genuine warmth, humour and empathy with listeners points towards a long and distinguished career in broadcasting.”

Overall, eight indie production companies won their categories.

“Our winners tonight once again exemplify the huge amount of talent there is in audio production companies across the UK, and throughout the wider radio and audio sector. The incredible content they produce demonstrates both the continuing strength of radio, and the exciting new opportunities offered by the fast-growing audio market.”

“We’ve been a long-time supporter of the Audio Production Awards and are proud to be partnering again this year to recognise great audio entertainment. Spoken-word audio continues to boom, with more people than ever enjoying expertly produced audiobooks, dramas, podcasts and on-demand radio. As always we’re delighted to spotlight the producers, presenters, technicians, sound-designers and narrators who are at the forefront of this surge in interest. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.”

"Congratulations to all of the winners at the Audio Production Awards. There were so many talented producers nominated and for them to be recognised and celebrated is fantastic. It was a brilliant celebration of the radio and audio production industry and the range of talent nominated proves what a vibrant and creative industry it is and we're proud to support it."

A panel of almost 80 judges from across the audio industry selected the winners.

The Winners

The mission of the Audio Production Awards is to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievement in audio and radio production within the designated categories covering both producers and on-mic talent.


Best Entertainment Producer - Sponsored by Heavy Entertainment

Ed Morrish (Freelance)

Best Music Producer

David Akosim (Somethin' Else)


Best Podcast Producer - Sponsored by Devaweb

Eva Krysiak (Everyone Else)


Best Sound Design/Engineer - Sponsored by Wired Broadcast

Steve Bond (Freelance)


Best Digital Producer

Thom Hoffman (Freelance)


Best Station Sound Producer - Sponsored by Arqiva

Liam Hadley (BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound)


Best Arts/Music Documentary/Feature Maker

Cathy FitzGerald (White Stiletto Productions)


Best Current Affairs Documentary/Feature Maker - Sponsored by ipDTL

Mark Carter (BBC Sussex)


Best Creative Documentary/Feature Maker - Sponsored by the Whicker’s World Foundation

Hana Walker-Brown (Freelance)


Best New Producer

Victoria Ferran (Just Radio)


Best New Voice

Ellie Cawthorne


Best Comedy Producer

Matt Stronge (BBC Studios Comedy)


Best Drama Producer

Lance Dann (Resonance)


Audiobook Narrator of the Year
Adam Sims - Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes (ID Audio)


Best Audiobook/Readings Producer - Sponsored by AV Resilience

Chris Thompson (Heavy Entertainment)


Grassroots Production Award

National Prison Radio


Best Presenter Speech - Sponsored by Arqiva

Dotun Adebayo


Best Presenter Music - Sponsored by Arqiva

Lauren Laverne


Gold Award

Tony Blackburn


Lifetime Achievement Award

Phil Critchlow


Indie of the Year

PRA Productions